20 Secondary School Teams Win Place In National Finals Of NDC Milk it! Advertising Awards

Pictured during the judging of the 2012 NDC Milk It! Advertising Awards were (L-R): Richard Curran (Dragons' Den/Sunday Business Post); Dr. Catherine Logan, Nutrition Manager, National Dairy Council; Ian McColl, Kick Communications; and Harry Keogh, Youth Education Officer.

Twenty teams of students representing 19 secondary schools from 12 counties have won places in the national finals of the 2012 NDC Milk It! Advertising Awards. "Udderly Epic", "Calcium Cravers", "Herd Nerds" and "Dairy Dudes" are just some examples of the colourful team names reflecting the creative thinking from the teenagers involved.

485 schools from the 26 counties initially registered for the competition, representing literally hundreds of students and accounting for just over 65% of all secondary schools. The secondary school students, in teams of up to six students, were challenged to set up their own ‘advertising agency’ and to work with a brief and guidelines to help them research, design and plan an advertising campaign aimed at encouraging their teenage peers to meet their recommended daily intake from the "milk, cheese and yogurt group".

Participating students gain insights into the world of commercial advertising and marketing, taking on roles such as Designers, Copywriters, Creative Directors, Research Directors, Media Directors and Project Managers in a project involving team work and offering cross-curricular linkage potential. The NDC Milk It! Advertising Awards relates to subjects ranging from Business, English & Media studies through to Art, or Home Economics on the nutritional side.

The 104 teenagers on the 20 teams through to the final round will now be invited to participate in the national finals in Dublin’s Round Room adjacent to The Mansion House, on Wednesday 9th May, 2012, when they will face the final challenge of exhibiting their work and presenting their ad campaigns to members of the expert national judging panel, with winners selected and announced on the same day.

The 2012 National Finalists in The NDC Milk It! Advertising Awards are:

Junior Category (1st, 2nd, 3rd Year Teams)


School: St. Mary's Secondary School, Macroom. Team: "The 'M' Factor", 2nd year
Students: Rachel Hurley, Aisling Kelleher, Stephanie O'Leary, Michaela O'Keeffe, Suzanne Barry, Sinead Logue

School: Colaiste Treasa, Kanturk. Team: "Dairy Dudes", 1st year
Students: Christian O'Connell-Walsh, Ryan Palmer, Ian O'Sullivan, Daniel Desmond


School: Dominican College, Blackrock. Team: "3 Diamond", 3rd year
Students: Katie Kelly, Orna Phelan, Susie Naughton, Keeva Byrne, Sarah Talukdar, Maeriel Benedicto

School: Templeogue College, Dublin 6W. Team: "Outside D Box", 1st year
Students: Rory Fleming, Luke Feely, Eoin Feighan

School: Muckross Park College, Donnybrook. Team: "Ri Ri Marketing", 1st year
Students: Rachel Cuddy,Denise Brennan,Anna Hevey,Ruby Monaghan,Sarah Bennett,Cliona Havin

School: Muckross Park College, Donnybrook. Team: "Dairy Fairies," 1st year
Students: Gina Dolan, Lara Pairceir, Molly Simons, Grace Nolan, Ellen Condren Kuipers, Sophie Stapleton


School: Scoil Phobail Sliabh Luachra, Rathmore. Team: "Milk The Moo", 2nd year
Students: Elaine O’Keeffe , Ciara O’Connell, Eimear O’Keeffe, Claire Smyth, Tim Murphy, Anthony Nagle


School: St. Joseph's Secondary School, Castlebar. Team: "Say Cheese", 1st Year
Students: Megan Devaney, Jane Faull, Eva Hussey, Rebekah Ryan, Niamh Henaghan


School: Colaiste na Hinse, Bettystown. Team: "Do Bainne", 2nd year
Students: Janet Jacob, Kelsey Fitzsimons


School: Arklow Community College. Team: "Bo Craicailte", 3rd year
Students: Jade Hackett, Jolene Leonard , Shane Cullen, Chloe Reilly, Niamh Cloran-Doyle ,Eimear Leonard

Senior Category (Transition Year, 5th & 6th Year Teams)


School: Scariff Community College. Team: "It's Got To Be Milk", 4th year students
Students: Eleanor Minogue, Marie Gardiner, Colin Burke, Orla Burke and Danny Comerford


School: Colaiste An Chroi Naofa. Team: "Herd Nerds", 4th year students
Students: Anna Cashman, Joan Mulcahy, Arlene Jack, Michelle McGinty, Grace Kelleher, Elaine Healy

School: Presentation Secondary School, Mitchelstown. Team: "Secondary Presentation School", 4th year students
Students: Cassie McGrath, Caragh Moher, Roisin O'Brien, Gemma Coffey, Jacinta Saich, Aoife O'Donoghue

School: Mount Saint Michael, Rosscarbery. Team: "Calcium Cravers", 4th year students
Students: Eoin Barclay, Padraig Cronin,Adam O'Donovan, Aidan Williamson, Aisling O'Sullivan, Timmy O'Donoghue


School: Loreto Community School, Milford. Team: "Edam's Angels", 4th year students
Students: Seania Strain, Ciara Haley, Margaret-Ann Gallagher


School: Castleknock Community College. Team: "The Legendairy Cow Crew", 5th year students
Students: Eve Farrelly, Declan King, Mark Sheridan, Shauna Golden, Sophie Martin


School: Portumna Community School. Team: "Bring on the Bainne," 4th year students
Students: Aoife Keary,Claire Mullins, Marisa Kennedy, Eoin Salmon, Sarah Walsh, Conor Etherton


School: St. Vincent's Secondary School, Dundalk. Team: "The Milk Detectives", 4th year students
Students: Rachel Bothwell, Sofie Owens, Alice Gill, Hannah Conroy and Aoife Clarke


School: St. Joseph's Secondary School, Mullingar. Team: "Udderly Epic", 4th year students
Students: Gwen Morris, Rachel Kelly, Sarah O'Grady, Laura Conway, Rebecca Cannon


School: Colaiste Abbain, Enniscorthy. Team: "Spotlight Advertising", 5th year students
Students: Jake Galligan, Hazel Whelan, Lisa Dunne, Stephanie Kehoe, Lauren Redmond, Geraldine Sweeney

National Category Prizes will be awarded to the top team in the Junior Category and the Senior Category, with each individual member of those teams receiving One4All vouchers to the value of €250 euro. Runners up or second placed teams in each Category will win One4All vouchers to the value of €100. The judges may also nominate category awards for the Best Nutrition Campaign and Best Innovative Campaign, whose team members will each win One4All vouchers to the value of €100. One of the national category winners will go forward to win the Overall Prize, with the winning campaign to be featured as part of a future NDC promotional campaign.

Judges include: Richard Curran, presenter of RTE's Dragons’ Den and Sunday Business Post columnist; Tim Griffiths, Institute of Advertising Practitioners of Ireland; Claire Nardonne, ZenithOptimedia; Dietitian Paula Mee; Neil McKenna, Kick Communications; Michael O'Leary, National Co-ordinator, Transition Year Programme; Dr Catherine Logan, Nutrition Manager, National Dairy Council; Ian McColl, Kick Communications; Harry Keogh, Youth Education Officer, Localise; and Caroline O’Donovan, Nutritionist, National Dairy Council.

For further information about The National Dairy Council, return to our Home Page

You can also visit Where Dairy Meets Fun

Follow us on Twitter @NDC_ie for news and events updates.

Media Enquiries to:

Antonina Ni Dhuinn, Progress Communications | 01-276 6117 | nina[at]progresspr[dot]ie |


Return to News Index